Third International AR Standards Meeting June 15-16, 2011

The meeting was recently concluded in Taichung, Taiwan. The objectives of this meeting were:

To establish or increase mutual awareness among Standards Development Organizations (SDOs) relevant to AR through a carefully managed “discovery” process that is mindful of the IPR policies of the respective SDOs, to establish or increase dialog among leadership of industry associations whose members are specifically interested in Augmented Reality initiatives and SDOs, to explore how SDOs and industry associations will define “contact zones” of mutual interest, to permit participants of the meeting to share their views and objectives, as well as progress/status of their activities, and to introduce new and important topics likely to impact the future of AR such as Spatial Law and Policy.

Program Committee members for this meeting were:

Neil Trevett, NVIDIA
Martin Lechner, Wikitude
Carl Reed, OGC
Douglas Knisely, Qualcomm
Gerard Kim, University of Korea
Adrian David Cheok, National University of Singapore CUTE Center
Ed Parsons, Google
Lars Erik Bolstad, Opera

A summary of the meeting can be found at:[Perey]Summary_of_3rd_AR_Standards_Meeting.pdf

Best Paper Award for 2nd International Conference on Education, Training and Informatics (ICETI 2011)

The paper titled “A Multimodal Virtual Anatomy Learning Tool for Medical Education”, has been selected as the best paper from the session of ‘Learning Technologies / Strategies for Assessing Student Learning and Teaching,’ at the 2nd International Conference on Education, Training and Informatics (ICETI 2011), held in Orlando, Florida, USA, on March 27th – 30th, 2011. This project is jointly developed by Keio-NUS CUTE Center (NUS) and Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine (NUS) which is particularly useful medical students to identify key anatomy structures and their complex spatial relationships.

The members of the A Multimodal Virtual Anatomy Learning Tool for Medical Education team are:

Ponnampalam Gopalakrishnakone
Lu Jianfeng
Goh Poh Sun
Asanka Abeykoon
Owen Noel Newton Fernando
Adrian David Cheok